Mint Annual Energy Conclave 2015



Energy capacity building is critical to a nation’s progress. Hence, the central aim of the conference was to provide a forum for a critical  examination of the efficacy of national strategies for augmenting energy generation with a focus on building this capacity with renewable  energy sources.

The theme of the conference “Current Power Scenario and the Road Ahead”  emphasized the desire to move beyond energy  generation for  the myriad challenges and opportunities that face India, and to explore instead strategies for executing already laid plans as  per the future  power requirements. Power is one of the most critical components of infrastructure, affecting India’s economic growth.


  • The conference featured a number of distinguished guests including keynote speakers Dharmendra Pradhan, Honble Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas and Piyush Goyal, Honble Minister for Power, Coal and New & Renewable Energy.
  • The conference outcomes included policy and practical recommendations that would inform the development of long-term national strategies and approaches that address current challenges faced by India to be energy sufficient.
  • The conference also explored how India can increase its dependence on renewable sources and how technology has proved to be a disruptor in this sector as well.
  • Over 200 people comprising of CXOs from the energy and power sector, PSU heads and policy makers converged at the Conclave.
  • Attendees were provided with a unique opportunity to engage in meaningfully animated discussions with leaders from this field.
  • The conclave witnessed some of India’s most authoritative voices debating critical issues pertaining to energy sector.


The event comprised of a series of three panel discussions on various critical issues faced by Indian Energy sector.

Panel on New Political Economy Of Oil

Panel on Technology Acting as a Disruptor

Panel on Renewable Energy


The discussion was moderated by Utpal Bhaskar, Energy Editor, Mint.

Anil Razdan
Anil Razdan, Former Power Secretary

Debasish Mishra
Debasish Mishra, Senior Director, Consulting, Deloitte

Deepal Mahurkar
Deepak Mahurkar, Leader, Oil and Gas Industry, PwC India

Dharmendra Pradhan
Dharmendra Pradhan

Inderpreet Wadhwa
Inderpreet Wadhwa, Founder & CEO, Azure Power

Mayank Ashar
Mayank Ashar, Managing Director & CEO, Cairn India

Radhika Khosla
Radhika Khosla, Fellow, Centre for Policy Research

Rana Kapoor
Rana Kapoor, Managing Director & CEO, YES BANK

Rathin Basu
Rathin Basu, Country President, Alstom India & South Asia

Rumi Engineer
Rumi Engineer, Business Head-Green Building Consultancy Services, Godrej and Boyce Mfg. Co. Ltd

Sambitosh Mohapatra
Sambitosh Mohapatra, Partner-Power and Utilities, PwC India

Shakti Sinha
Shakti Sinha, Director, South Asian Institute of Strategic Affairs

T K Sengupta
T.K. Sengupta, Director, Offshore, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation

Tarun Kapoor
Tarun Kapoor, Joint Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy

Venue and Date

Venue : Taj Mansingh, New Delhi

Date : 28th August, 2015


In Media